As the Des Moines Business Record rolls into the second decade of our annual "Women of Influence" celebration, we congratulate the 10 outstanding honorees for 2010. From athletics to government to business and charity, they represent a wide swath of Central Iowa life.

They are: Barbara Gartner, community philanthropist; Carol Griglione of Principal Life Insurance Co.; Sandy Hatfield Clubb, athletic director at Drake University; Geri Huser, a member of the Iowa House of Representatives; Kristi Knous of the Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines; Sharon Malheiro, an attorney at the Davis Brown law firm; Mary Nelson, vice president of Kemin Industries; Mary Ann Nielsen of AIB College of Business; Ying Sa of Community CPA and Associates; and, chosen as the Woman Business Owner of the Year, Denise Essman of Essman/Companies.


Denise Essman, Woman Business Owner of the Year
Barbara Gartner
Carol Griglione
Sandy Hatfield Clubb
Geri Huser
Kristi Knous
Sharon Malheiro
Mary Nelson
Mary Ann Nielsen
Ying Sa