

CONTACT: Kyle Oppenhuizen (515) 286-4972

koppenhuizen@desmoinesmetro.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 27, 2015

Congratulations to the Youth Leadership Initiative Class of 2015

GREATER DES MOINES – A total of 39 students from 18 area high schools graduated from the 2015 Youth Leadership Initiative (YLI). The ceremony was held at the Des Moines Art Center on Tuesday, May 26. Students gave final presentations on their small group service projects, which they had to plan, organize, execute and manage a budget. In addition, the following people and organizations received awards:

- Morgan Stutzman of Johnston High School won the YLI Outstanding Youth Award
- Iowa Safe Schools won the YLI Community Partner Award
- Zach Walker won the Mentor of the Year Award
- David Schmitz won the YLI Impact Award

YLI introduces, develops and fosters leadership skills among youth in Greater Des Moines by providing experiential mentoring and leadership experiences that enhance self-esteem and encourage involvement in all levels of community life.

YLI is a program of the Greater Des Moines Partnership under its Regional Workforce Development and Education pillar of work. Since its inception in 2001, 420 students have graduated from the program.

The 2015 YLI Class

Tommy Anderson – West Des Moines Valley
Taylor Baber – Carlisle
Nicole Baily – Hoover
Dylan Boles – Van Meter
Levon Bottley – West Des Moines Valley
Nolan Bulver – Southeast Polk
Kate Carico – Johnston
Griffin Clabaugh – Urbandale
Margarita Clemente – North
Katie Coleman – Dowling Catholic

(more)

YLI Graduation,

Page 2

Megan Eischeid – Dallas Center-Grimes

Olive Elwell – Roosevelt

Jack Fink – Dowling Catholic

Charlie Flippen - Roosevelt

Tyler Hirl – Norwalk

Dody Kim – Dallas Center-Grimes

Evan Konrad – Roosevelt

Anne Krone - Johnston

Ian Ksiazak - West Des Moines Valley

Garrison McFarlan - Iowa Christian Academy

Katie Meinecke – Norwalk

Carter Mills - WDM Valley

Sara Mulder – East

Ben Nelson – Dowling Catholic

Daniel Nielsen – Dowling Catholic

Zach Owens - Ankeny Centennial

Alex Peralta – Waukee

Natalie Perez – Carlisle

Lucas Phillips – Urbandale

Adam Rose - Waukee

Missy Rovner – Southeast Polk

Sarah Sjurson – Waukee

Morgan Stutzman – Johnston

Katelyn Thomas - Southeast Polk

Leslie Tiengkham – East

Cody Veach – Iowa Christian Academy

Sreeja Vepa – Urbandale

Kendra Wickre - Saydel High School

Trent Wignall - Johnston

About the Youth Leadership Initiative

YLI began as a project of the Greater Des Moines Leadership Institute's Community Leadership class of 2001-2002. It is now a program of the Partnership's Regional Workforce Development and Education initiative. Now in its 14th year, YLI's mission is to help local youth see a community that is welcoming, nurturing, and vital which provides ample opportunity for participation in meaningful community change, networking, and individual growth. Since its inception, more than 420 students have successfully graduated from the program. For more information on the program, visit

https://www.desmoinesmetro.com/en/talent_development/education/#YLI.

(more)

YLI Graduation, Page 3

About the Greater Des Moines Partnership

The Greater Des Moines Partnership is the economic and community development organization serving Central Iowa, united to drive economic growth with one voice, one mission, and as one region. Together with 21 Affiliate Chambers of Commerce and 5,300 business members, the Partnership grows opportunity, creates jobs, and promotes the best place to build a business, a career, and a future.

For more information, please visit www.desmoinesmetro.com/education or contact program director, Nathan Ritz, at (515) 286-4937 or nritz@desmoinesmetro.com. Media inquiries should be directed to Kyle Oppenhuizen at (515) 286-4972 or koppenhuizen@desmoinesmetro.com.

--- ### ---