The Nov. 5 city election will have a crowded field in Des Moines with a couple of high-profile matchups in races to join the seven-member Des Moines City Council. Developer Jack Hatch, a former state lawmaker and candidate for governor, will oppose Frank Cownie, the city’s longest-serving mayor. Chase Holm and Joe Grandanette, who has run unsuccessfully for a range of public offices over several decades, also seek that seat. The biggest field comes in the seven-candidate at-large race to replace Chris Coleman, who chose not to run for re-election. Community leader and former appointed Councilman Carl Voss faces Jacquie Easley, who has chaired the city’s Plan and Zoning Commission and also served on the Des Moines School Board. Also in that race are Marlu Abarca, Marco Battaglia, Sheila Knoploh-Odole, Marlon Mormann and Ethan Standard. Councilwoman Linda Westergaard drew a challenge in Ward 2 from former Councilman Skip Moore, who was unseated by Connie Boesen in the 2017 at-large election. Jerry Davis seeks that seat, too. In Ward 4, Councilman Joe Gatto faces challenges from Chelsea Chism-Vargas and Toya Johnson. The deadline to file papers to run for the council was Thursday.