Sixteen communities have received funding from the state to advance water quality projects, the governor’s office announced this week. In a news release, Gov. Kim Reynolds announced that $6.2 million was being made available through the Wastewater and Drinking Water Treatment Financial Program, approved by the Legislature and signed into law by Reynolds in 2018. A committee consisting of representatives from the Iowa Finance Authority, the Iowa Department of Natural Resources and the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship judged applications for the program. Priorities for the program include disadvantaged communities, water quality in watersheds, projects that use alternative wastewater treatment technologies, communities with the highest sewer or water rates, projects that use technology to address nutrient reduction, and projects that address improvement to drinking water sources. The communities that were awarded grants are Adel, Auburn, Boone, Britt, Carlisle, Chariton, Winneshiek County/Festina, Grandview, Hartford, Indianola, Lake Park, McGregor, Mount Ayr, Perry, Treynor and Wheatland.