AABP Award 728x90

Main Street Iowa recognizes volunteers


Gov. Terry Branstad and Debi Burham, director of the Iowa Economic Development Authority, recognized communities across Iowa on Friday during the annual Main Street Iowa awards.

Main Street organizations throughout Iowa have tracked $1 billion in private investments over the past 26 years, according to a release. “I am proud to have been part of the effort to bring the Main Street program to Iowa in 1985 as an economic development tool,” Branstad said. “It is gratifying to see and hear about the successes your communities have had because of your participation in Main Street.  As a result of the hard work of countless local leaders, Iowa’s Main Street districts in communities large and small are flourishing.”

The group gave the biggest award, the Spirit of Main Street Award, to a group of 250 volunteers who participated in the 2011 National Main Streets Conference. For a full list of the award winners,click here.

dentons brweb 090123 300x250