EP Award Promo

2021 Iowa Women of Achievement honorees announced


Women Lead Change has announced the three honorees for its annual Women of Achievement awards. The honorees are Barbara Lee Boatwright, Lou Henry Hoover and Jessie Field Shambaugh. Boatwright, who died in 2012, was president of the Iowa Clinical Social Work Coalition and co-founded the Democratic Activist Women’s Network in 1993 to elect Iowa women to the Legislature. Hoover, who died in 1944, was perhaps best known as first lady of the United States. Born in Waterloo, she also was the first woman to receive a degree in geology from Stanford University. Shambaugh, who died in 1971, is often referred to as “the mother of 4-H.” The women will be commemorated with permanent plaques on the Iowa Women of Achievement Bridge in Des Moines.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!

jca brd 120122 300x250