h digitalfootprint web 728x90

2022 Iowa Latino Hall of Fame honorees announced


The Iowa Commission of Latino Affairs and the Iowa Department of Human Rights announced Monday that six Iowans will be inducted into the Iowa Latino Hall of Fame on Oct. 15, the last day of Latino Heritage Month, which begins Sept. 15. The ceremony will be at the Des Moines Art Center at 5:30 p.m., and a reception to celebrate the honorees will follow. Registration is not required.

The 2022 honorees are:

  • Edith Cabrera-Tello, born in Guatemala City, Guatemala — Fairfield.
  • Joe Gonzales, born in Yurecuaro, Michoacan, Mexico — Des Moines.
  • Emilia Marroquin, born in San Salvador, El Salvador — Storm Lake.
  • Alexia Sanchez, Iowa Latinx Youth Leadership Award recipient. Born in Toluca, Mexico — grew up in Des Moines.
  • R. Samuel Braden, Robert D. Ray Award for Equity and Justice recipient. Born in Elkhart, Ind. — Fredonia.
  • Marlú Carolina Abarca, Iowa LGBTQIA Leadership Award recipient. Born in Torrance, Calif. — Waukee.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!

hy vee web 030123 300x250