AABP Award 728x90

About Connie Wimer

Connie Wimer was born in Merrill, Iowa, a small town in northwest Iowa and attended Morningside College. Connie is the owner and Chairman of Business Publications Corporation. In addition to publishing thirty-some different publications each year, the company also does custom publishing, book publishing and has created more than 25 events presented throughout the year.

Connie serves on a number of civic, charitable and higher education boards in the city, the state and nationally. She is the founder of Winefest and was the first woman to serve as Chair of the Greater Des Moines Chamber and the first woman to receive the Business Hall of Fame Award from the Greater Des Moines Committee.

Editor & Publisher, the respected monthly trade news magazine covering the publishing industry, recognized the Business Record in a special section called “10 News Publishers That Do It Right” in 2021. BPC was cited for launching "new initiatives that provided value to the community".

Connie received the Lewis Conn Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Alliance of Area Business Publications as well as the Milton W. Jones Lifetime Achievement Award from the City/Regional Magazine Association (CRMA), for her contributions to that organization and the magazine publishing industry as a whole.

connie wimer


  • 1980 Women in Business: Small Business Advocate of the Year - SBA
  • 1982 Beta Gamma Sigma (Drake University Business School Honor Society) Businessperson of the Year
  • 1983 YWCA Women of Achievement Award
  • 1983 Employers Golden Key Award, Indianola Chapter, Business and Professional Women
  • 1984 Media Advocate of the Year, SBA
  • 1986 Drake University Media "Masters" Award
  • 1986 Women in Communications "CORA" Award
  • 1987 Greater Des Moines Chamber of Commerce Federation Small Businessperson of the Year
  • 1987 President of Des Moines Chamber of Commerce
  • 1991 Young Women's Resource Center "Visionary Women" Award
  • 1997 Woman of the Year, Des Moines Chapter, Business and Professional Women
  • 2002 Greater Des Moines Committee Business Hall of Fame recipient
  • 2003 Hall of Achievement Award from Jr. Achievement of Central Iowa
  • 2005 Variety Club's Humanitarian Award
  • 2006 Master Editor/Publisher by the Iowa Newspaper Association
  • 2006 Lewis M. Conn Award - For Outstanding Contributions to the Alliance of Area Business Publications
  • 2007 Iowa Women's Hall of Fame inductee
  • 2007 Association of Fundraising Professional's Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser Award
  • 2007 Friends of Iowa Civil Rights - Special recognition for unprecedented service
  • 2009 Connie Wimer Spirit Award
  • 2012 Des Moines University Glanton Honoree Award
  • 2014 NAWBO Iowa Hall of Fame Legacy Award
  • 2016 Faith and Freedom Community Leader Award
  • 2017 The Conner Wimer Women's Leadership Program (CWWL) Morningside College program designed to help undergraduate women accelerate their professional growth through seminars, workshops and other events focused on personal leadership development, negotiation, skill building, networking and ethical behavior training.
  • 2018 Bravo Award - in recognition of her contributions to Des Moines arts and cultural scene
  • 2018 Mind & Spirit Women Helping Women Honoree
  • 2019 Drake University College of Business and Public Administration - Community Leadership Award
  • 2021 Milton W. Jones Lifetime Achievement Award from the City and Regional Magazine Association
  • 2022 ISU Debbie and Jerry Ivy College of Business - Women in Business Champion Award
  • 2023 Pi515's Legacy Award
  • 2023 United Way Live United Leader for dedicated efforts mentoring young students to have a plan beyond high school graduation.
hy vee web 072423 300x250