AABP Award 728x90

Branstad announces STEM hubs


Six communities across Iowa were selected as the first locations to implement Gov. Terry Branstad’s new initiative to better prepare students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

Branstad said STEM jobs are among the “fasting-growing” careers in Iowa. Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds said access to STEM education is largely restricted by where students live. The six STEM hubs will give students better access, she said.

The six are Iowa Lakes Community College, University of Northern Iowa, Iowa State University, Drake University, Southwestern Community College, University of Iowa and Kirkwood Community College, which will serve as a joint hub with University of Iowa. To learn more about the STEM initiative, click here.

mercyone web 070123 300x250