EP Award Promo

Initial Blue Zones demonstration cities chosen


Cedar Falls, Mason City, Spencer and Waterloo have been selected as the first four Blue Zones demonstration communities. Gov. Terry Branstad joined Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield CEO John Forsyth and other officials in making the announcement this morning. The four cities, chosen from 84 Iowa communities that applied, will receive assistance from national experts to develop and implement changes to help residents lead longer, healthier lives. 

Six additional cities with populations above 10,000 will be chosen within the next year. The progress of the demonstration communities will be measured using the Gallup-Healthways Well-Being Index, an ongoing survey of U.S. residents’ health and well-being. 

The Blue Zones project is part of the Healthiest State Initiative, a campaign to make Iowa the healthiest state in the nation within the next five years.

fhbl brd 080123 300x250