AABP Award 728x90

Iowa African-American Hall of Fame announces 2015 inductees


Two women are among the 2015 inductees into the Iowa African-American Hall of Fame. Founded in 1995 in Des Moines, the IAAHF recognizes the outstanding achievements of African-Americans who have enhanced the quality of life for all Iowans. This year’s honorees include Georgine Crowe Morris of Des Moines, posthumously. Crowe Morris was known for her outspoken civil rights activism, leadership and service. The second is Ruth White of Cedar Rapids. White is an award-winning educator and former director of the Iowa Department of Human Rights during Gov. Tom Vilsack’s administration. Julius S. Conner, the first African-American director of the Polk County Public Health Department, was the final honoree. This year’s inductees will be recognized at a reception on Aug. 7 at the Meadows Event and Conference Center in Altoona. To learn more about the honorees and to register for the event, click here

Optimized by Optimole