AABP Award 728x90

Knapp presented with Iowa Award


Updated at 3:14 p.m. on Jan. 14

Gov. Chet Culver presented the Iowa Award to Bill Knapp during a ceremony in the rotunda of the state Capitol at 2 p.m. Saturday.

Knapp, founder and chairman emeritus of Knapp Properties Inc., joined John Ruan as the only Des Moines business leaders to win the award.

He joins a long list of winners since 1951, including the first winner, President Herbert Hoover. Knapp founded Iowa Realty in 1952 and Knapp Properties in 1992.

broadlawns web 100123 300x250