h digitalfootprint web 728x90

Three Iowa college students receive Goldwater Scholarships


Drake University junior Shannon Herzog, a chemistry and biochemistry major from White Bear Lake, Minn., has been named a Goldwater Scholar. She is among three students from Iowa institutions and 211 selected nationwide to receive the prestigious Goldwater Foundation Scholarship, established in 1986 in honor of Sen. Barry Goldwater to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, natural sciences and engineering. Herzog, who plans to study polymer-based drug delivery systems as a physician-scientist at an academic medical center, will receive $7,500 for the 2018-19 academic year. Other Goldwater Scholars in Iowa are Mareena Franke, a chemistry major at Coe College who plans to conduct research on the synthesis of sustainable materials and teach at a university; and Ojas Pradhan, an engineering major at the University of Iowa who plans to pursue a doctorate in chemical engineering and conduct research in drug delivery in industry or academia. 

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!

uofitippie web 030123 300x250